Feministing Bashes Movember and Men

ARGGGHHHH!!!  This post at Feministing.com just completely infuriates me.  The levels of hypocrisy, hate, sexism, and man-bashing are just beyond words.  They rip apart a charity that donating over $42 million last year alone for research into prostate and testicular cancer and depression, simply because the charity is male based?  Are they really that hypocritical that they must slander an organization that helps more than just people with vaginas?  This is the true face of feministing.com; not equality, but women first, men never.

So Loris is the one who wrote this article asking for Decembrow, since Movember is popular and feminists can’t have something that they don’t have a claim on.  But she starts off the article arguing that Movember just doesn’t like women, and then blatantly slanders the group by saying that women can only participate by fucking Movember men, and links to an offensive satirical YouTube video. 

So I guess there are no breast cancer events that are women centric; that men cannot participate in but can donate to and help woman get donations?  Because that is what Movember is.  Women aren’t growing moustaches to support the cause, but they sure can help out and spread awareness.  But I guess its more in the style of feminism to wrongly claim that a charity a couple of men came up with was just a way to spread ‘bro culture and get laid.  Who cares about the truth right?

I can’t believe feministing.com would publish something like this.  Instead of seeing the postive benefits of the this charity and what it does, they have to tear it down and slander it.  This scorched earth, us or them mentality is unhealthy and hurts everyone in the long run.  And it just shows the true colors of the ‘feminists’ at Feministing.com.  They are more of the  man-hating type, than the true equality type.

9 thoughts on “Feministing Bashes Movember and Men

  1. I’m confused. I’m reading the article to which you refer right now and I’ll quote it:

    While the event is a great way for men and people who can grow moustaches to get involved in raising money for an important cause, it has heretofore been lacking in opportunities for women who have trouble growing moustaches to get involved (or at least opportunities that didn’t involve sleeping with moustached men for the cause).

    Lori calls it an “important cause”. She doesn’t, as you say, claim that “Movember just doesn’t like women.” She just says most women can’t grow a ‘stash and therefore can’t participate. (I didn’t watch the YouTube video. Is that the source of your fury? What’s in the video?)

    She doesn’t “rip into” the charity. She calls it “a great cause. ”

    I’m really failing to see any of the hostility that you cite. In fact, her tongue-in-cheek “Browcember” is a riff on (not insult on) the Mowvember.

    • They could buy a freaking stick on mustache if they can’t grow one. But they are bashing it.. If they want to be involved they can in many ways. Donate, wear a t-shirt buy a stick on mustache.

  2. I’m sorry. I was going to try to sandwich my criticism of this post between two redeeming qualities, but I can’t find any. I’m not entirely convinced you even read the blog post you’re complaining about. Your feelings on feminism come through quite clearly, though, so I’m going to assume this is what happened in your brain:

    1. Got to Feministing while doing your daily rounds of Blogs Which Make You Angry
    2. Saw a post that included the word “men”
    3. ARRRRGHKGLDFKLKF

    I’m not sure, but I think you might be an idiot. I’m not going to stick around to find out. Also, I’m a man, with a penis! So you can’t just discount my opinions as those of a weak-minded man-hating feminist, or whatever.

    • Thanks Carl, for your enlightening ad hominem attack of me. When you decide to give me some real criticism I welcome it. After looking back, I do have to concede that Lori was attacking Movember per se, but her sarcasm is hard to see. The comments which I talk about show much more disdain for Movember.

      And even men with a penis can be man-hating feminists. I am working on a blog post of how I tried to be more feminine as I grew up because of the messages everywhere that boys are mean, sexist, not as good as girls.

  3. hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  4. Well said, I’ve just read a bunch of feminist articles about movember which more or less boil down to “if it’s about men, it must be anti-woman.” I don’t think all feminists agree with it, but men’s rights and men’s health issues sure seem bring out the dark side in most of them.

  5. My main issue with your argument is that feminists oppose the standard breast cancer awareness tactics: pink, sexualizing breast cancer, shopping for a cure, etc.

Leave a Reply

